The H Club - Health, Home & Handycraft Infobase
Gluten Free Recipes

Click on the link below to download a copy of the selected Gluten free recipe

Hot & Spicy Spaghetti

Look out for the following recipes to be added to this site in the near future, or e-mail us to request a copy of the one you would like if it isn't yet available as a downloadable link

Sponge Layer Cake
Marble Cake
Bacon & Egg Pizza
Kedgeree
Rice & Ham
Rissoles
Fish Cakes
Polenta Porridge
Quinnoa Porridge
Kasha
Teff Porridge
Muesli
Cheese Omelette
Herb Omelette
Italian Omelette
Pizza in a Pan
Quiche Lorraine
Potato Crust Quiche
Cheese Pudding
Liver & Bacon
Cottage Pie
Cauliflower Cheese
Tuna & Rice
Corned Beef & Hash Browns Canadian Style
Bubble & Squeak
Savory Ducks (Faggots)
Avacado & Cheese
Deep Fried Mushrooms
Grilled Grapefruit
Beef Stock
Chicken Stock
Fish Stock
Cauliflower & Cheese Soup
Tomato & Apple Soup
Bean Soup
Tapioca Soup
Scotch Broth
Leek & Potato Soup
Bacon & Lentil Soup
Black Mushroom Soup
Carrot Soup
Beef Stew
Beefburgers
Turkeyburgers

If you have any interesting and healthy recipes you would like to share, please e-mail them to us




Read the Label !

Manufacturers must list all ingredients on the ingredients list, and will name the actual grain, so will use the words ‘wheat’, ‘rye’, ‘barley’, ‘oats’; or some will use the word ‘gluten’ as well i.e. ‘wheat gluten’.

Some manufacturers also use an allergy advice box to highlight the presence of gluten in a product. This is not compulsory but also helps in selection of products on a gluten-freediet.

You should also check for statements such as ‘may contain traces of gluten’, ‘made on a line handling wheat’ or ‘made in factory also handling wheat’. This means that there is a risk of contamination.

If you are unsure about a particular product you can contact the Coeliac Society Helpline and they will go through the ingredients list with you.

Blacklist: Food Ingredients to Avoid

Wheat: grain containing high levels of gluten
Bulgar: soaked and dried wheat
Durum: a type of wheat
Strong flour, bread flour, brown flour, wholemeal flour, granary flour: all made from wheat
Oats: contain some protein similar to wheat gluten but may not cause problems for all coeliacs.  Best avoided
Barley: contains some protein similar to wheat gluten
Rye: contains some protein similar to wheat gluten
Triticale: contains some protein similar to wheat gluten
Spelt: contains some protein similar to wheat gluten
Semolina: made from wheat
Couscous: made from wheat
Pasta, Macaroni, spaghetti: made from wheat
Baking Powder: may contain wheat flour
Stock cubes: may contain wheat flour
Mustard powder: may contain wheat flour
Soy Sauce: this is normally soya beans fermented with wheat flour.  Check the food list for brands that do not contain wheat flour
Suet in packets: may contain wheat flour to stop suet sticking together

Link to the Coeliac Society web page.
 
Click here >>>>> Coeliac Society